AT WORK: DE-CLUTTER

We picked up “The New Health Rules,” and are feeling super motivated by the content. The book is broken into sections with one page suggestions on how incrementally eating, moving, healing, and living better can have a major impact on your health and well-being. One of our team members was leafing through, and connected with the “Clutter is the Junk Food of the Home” page:

“I don’t know if it’s the short days, the bad weather, or a New Year’s resolution I subliminally gave myself, but I have felt a big need to get rid of all the stuff in my house. I usually relax when I get home from work, but lately I go immediately to some hidden corner of my house and just throw out as much as I possibly can. It’s such an innate need to purge, that last week I was about halfway through cleaning out my bathroom when I realized I still had my sunglasses on. At night. So if you know anybody who wants half a bottle of expired vitamins or white eyeliner from 2007, I might know a guy.”

Streamlining your space feels good, and is a super easy way to feel like you’ve accomplished something big. Pick one room and attack it with vigor. Be merciless and unsentimental. Donate what and where you can. And then revel in the feeling of having created less. Addition by subtraction is real, folks.

(For extra motivation to cleanse your space, check out these tiny homes that have no time for clutter.)